Steering Committee

The Steering Committee consists of Senate officers, committee chairs, and other delegates elected by the Senate, as well as one non-voting member selected by the Provost in consultation with the Senate President. Delegates need not be senators to be elected.

Members, 2022–23

  • Uzma Z. Rizvi, President, ex-officio (Full-Time Faculty, Social Science & Cultural Studies)
  • Nancy Smith, Information Officer, ex-officio (Full-Time Faculty, School of Information)
  • Maria Sieira, Finance Officer, ex-officio (Acting Associate Chairperson, Undergraduate Architecture, School of Architecture)
  • Jason Vigneri-Beane, Outreach Officer, ex-officio (Associate Professor, Undergraduate Architecture)
  • Amy Ballmer, Parliamentarian, ex-officio (Chair of Library Teaching, Library)
  • Nicholas Dease, Institute Curriculum Committee Chair, ex-officio (Digital Learning Librarian, Library)
  • Sean Sullivan, Academic Policy Committee Chair, ex-officio (Part-Time Faculty, Foundation Art & Design)
  • Dean Sidaway, Distinguished Teacher Award Committee Chair, ex-officio (Full-Time Faculty, Fashion Design, School of Design)
  • Irene Lopatovska, Faculty Development Fund Committee Chair, ex-officio (Full-Time Faculty, School of Information)
  • Saul Anton, Research Recognition Award Committee Chair, ex-officio (Full-Time Faculty, Fine Arts, School of Art)
  • Courtney Knapp, Academic Service Award Chair, ex-officio (Full-Time Faculty, School of Architecture)
  • Amanda Huynh (Full-Time Faculty, Industrial Design, School of Design)
  • James Lipovac, (Part-Time Faculty, Foundation Art & Design)
  • Russ Abell, Director of Libraries (non-voting)

Officers serve three-year terms, and other committee members serve one-year terms, renewable without limit.


The Steering Committee

  • a. makes interim decisions for the Senate, such actions being consistent with previous Senate actions and being subject to review and, if so desired, approval at subsequent Senate meetings;
  • b. hears the reports of all Senate committees and take actions in accordance with the purposes of the Senate;
  • c. reviews the structure and operation of the Senate and making recommendations to the Senate regarding these issues;
  • d. convenes and prepares agenda for Senate meetings;
  • e. recommends an annual budget to the Senate in consultation with the appropriate committees and based on the budget proposal submitted by the Financial Officer;
  • f. conducts nominations, elections, and other votes with constituents; and
  • g. establishes whatever special committees are deemed necessary to discharge its responsibilities.

Officers and committee chairs, as well as part-time faculty serving as Steering Committee delegates, receive compensation according to the Senate Compensation Policy.


The Steering Committee meets monthly during the fall and spring semesters.

  • Apr 11, 2023, 12:30 pm

For the full Senate schedule, see Meetings.

Nominations & Elections

Elections for committee chairs and delegates are held each spring semester. Officers are elected every three years. See Nominations for details on deadlines and procedures.