The Senate convenes five standing committees that include senators and other constituents from across the Institute:

The Senate is led by an Executive Committee of four officers (PresidentFinancial OfficerInformation Officer, and Outreach Officer) and a Steering Committee made up of the four officers, committee chairs, and other delegates elected by the Senate.

The Senate also nominates faculty and chairs for Board positions and Institute committees, including search committees for deans, vice-presidents, the provost, and the president.