Seeking medal designs for past Distinguished Teachers

Posted on March 6, 2019

The Academic Senate seeks student medal designs for the following Distinguished Teachers. Additional information on each of these winners is available via the links below. Andrew Lenaghan, 2015 (Foundation)Eric Wong, 2010 (Undergraduate Architecture)Floyd Hughes, 2008 (Undergraduate Communications Design)Douglas Wirls, 2007 (Foundation)Brent Porter, 2005 (Undergraduate Architecture)Robert Zakarian, 2004 (Fine Arts)Steven Doloff, 2001 ...

Read More

Student designs invited for the Distinguished Teacher medal, 2019–20

Posted on February 14, 2019

All Pratt students are invited to submit designs for the Pratt Institute Distinguished Teacher Award (DTA) Medal by March 24th. The winner will be awarded $350 and the design will be featured on the DTA website. This year we are also asking for medal design submissions for past Distinguished Teacher winners; the award and specifications will be the same and details can be found below. Please submit design proposals to mportis@pratt...

Read More

Inaugural Faculty Research Recognition Award – Applications due Feb 15

Posted on January 22, 2019

Pratt Institute commits to recognizing and supporting research of its faculty, staff and students. The Faculty Research Recognition Award (FRRA) has been developed through faculty initiatives, supported by the Senate and Provost's Office, to recognize the cumulative and ongoing research of our peers in their respective fields. The FRRA is awarded by a committee elected by the Senate representing members from all schools. We recognize a wide ...

Read More

Ballots open for two dean search committees

Posted on October 10, 2018

On October 5, all constituents in the School of Architecture (SoA) and School of Liberal Arts & Science (SLAS) received Election Runner ballots in their Pratt email for ranking faculty and chair candidates from their schools to serve on the search committees for their new deans. The search committee will be composed of five faculty members from within the school—a majority of the search committee, in compliance with the Faculty ...

Read More

Welcome new faculty

Posted on August 8, 2018

Welcome to Pratt! New Faculty Orientation will take place on Thursday, August 23 from 8:30 am – 2 pm in the Pratt Library’s 2nd Floor Periodicals Room. More information and an RSVP form are available. The Academic Senate, which represents faculty, chairs, and staff who teach at Pratt Institute, has prepared a Faculty Orientation page with links to important information and resources. We hope this helps you make a smooth start at Pratt, ...

Read More

RSVP to meet finalists for Chief Diversity & Inclusion Officer

Posted on February 19, 2018

[Update: There are three finalists for the position, and there will be no meeting on March 1] All Senate constituents are invited to meet with finalists for Pratt's inaugural position of Chief Diversity & Inclusion Officer (CDIO). Details on this position are available in the job description and the Institute's Diversity Strategic Plan. Please RSVP if you are able to attend any of these meetings: Monday, February 26, ...

Read More

Student designs invited for the Distinguished Teacher medal, 2018–19

Posted on February 17, 2018

All Pratt students are invited to submit designs for the Pratt Institute Distinguished Teacher Award (DTA) Medal by March 25th. $350 will be awarded to the winner, who will be featured on the DTA Medal website. This will include images of the winning Medal and fabrication process. This competition is open to Pratt Institute students from all undergraduate and graduate departments. Faculty and staff who serve as advisors will be credited ...

Read More

Spring equinox happy hour – Save the date: Wed 3/21

Posted on January 31, 2018

Why wait to the end of semester if you can have a party in March? The Steering Committee decided to try something new this year—a mid term happy hour to lift our spirits and welcome spring. Wed. March 21, 6:30-9pm. Location TBA.

Read More

Strategic planning process announced – seeking nominations

Posted on January 29, 2018

President Frances Bronet has launched the next phase of Pratt Institute's strategic planning process. Provost Kirk Pillow and Vice-President for Finance and Administration Cathleen Kenny will co-chair a new strategic planning steering committee, which will include Senate President Chris Sula. The Academic Senate has been has been asked to nominate faculty and chair representatives to several subcommittees: Academic Excellence: …enhance ...

Read More

Intellectual Property Town Hall with Assoc Provost Allison Druin – Feb 13, 2018

Posted on January 24, 2018

Pratt Academic Senate is sponsoring an Intellectual Property Town Hall gathering on Tuesday, February 13, 2018 from 12:30–2pm in the Alumni Reading Room (Library 3rd Floor). Lunch will be served. Please RSVP if you plan to attend. All Senate constituents (full- and part-time faculty; chairs and assistant chairs; and teaching staff) are invited to discuss Pratt Institutes's IP policy that is in progression with Allison Druin, Associate ...

Read More