Call For Membership: Academic Concerns & Support

Posted on September 10, 2013

The Senate invites full-time faculty, part-time faculty, chairs and assistant chairs to serve on two Senate committees for academic concerns and support. We are seeking representation from each of the four schools (Art and Design, Architecture, Information and Library Science and Liberal Arts and Sciences) and the Library. If you are interested and/or have questions about the committees and service on the Senate, please contact the respective committee chairs or the Senate Vice-president Paul Dambowic.

Distinguished Teacher Award (DTA) Committee 2013-2014
Chair to be elected by the Senate

It is anticipated that the DTA committee will begin meeting in late Fall 2013 to finalize procedures. It meets to deliberate in the spring 2014 semester, usually after the spring break.  In addition to faculty and chair representatives, the DTA committee includes voting undergraduate and graduate student representatives and a non-voting representative from the Division of Information Technology.

Faculty Development Fund (FDF) Committee 2013-2014
Professor Sarah VanOuwerkerk, Committee Chair

Faculty and Chairs/Assistant Chairs who have not indicated their intention to apply for a grant in the current year are eligible to serve on the FDF committee. As in previous years, the FDF committee is expected to meet approximately four to five times, beginning in late January and ending in late March/early April.

Upon verification of these committees, we will announce the scope of work for each committee, including meeting schedules for the Spring 2014 semester.

THANKS We thank the Provost’s Office, the offices of Student Affairs, Information Technology and Human Resources for their administrative support for these Senate committees. Special thanks to Jeannie Dy-So in the Provost’s Office.


The Academic Concerns & Support Committee is charged with reviewing and making recommendations on all non-instructional aspects of academic services and activities, such as faculty development and support. The Senate, in part, fulfills its charge in academic concerns and support through the following sub-committees:


2013-14 Application forms: [PDF]  [Word]

Now in its nineteenth year, the purpose of the fund is to provide financial support for the development & advancement of full-time faculty, chairpersons, & members of the adjunct & visiting faculty. This year’s awards will total $65,000 with $15,000 allocated to encourage the development of collaborative/cross disciplinary courses/studies/projects at the Institute.


The Pratt Institute Distinguished Teacher Award recognizes exceptional dedication to Pratt’s mission & applauds the accomplishments made over the course of a career. The Distinguished Teacher is nominated by students & the Award is conferred by the Academic Senate, the Provost, & the Board of Trustees. The recipient usually addresses the student body at Honors Convocation, presents the mace at graduation ceremonies, & delivers a lecture for the Institute community.