Research Recognition Award (Special Committee)

In recognition of the role of research among faculty members and of the growing significance of research at Pratt, the Senate formed this committee on Sept 18, 2018 to develop a Research Recognition Award, presented annually to a faculty member who demonstrates cumulative and ongoing contributions to research (broadly defined). The recipient will present at the annual Research Open House in March and receive compensation similar to the Distinguished Teacher (details in development).


  • Uzma Rizvi, Chair (Associate Professor, Social Science & Cultural Studies, School of Liberal Arts & Sciences)
  • Amy Ballmer (Chair of Library, Teaching, Learning & Collection Development, Library)
  • Caleb Crawford (Visiting Associate Professor, Undergraduate Architecture, School of Architecture)
  • Mary Edwards (Adjunct Professor, History of Art & Design, School of Liberal Arts & Sciences)
  • Heather Lewis (Acting Chair, Art & Design Education, School of Art)
  • Monica Maceli (Assistant Professor, School of Information)
  • Nicholas Parkinson (Visiting Assistant Professor, Industrial Design, School of Design)

Senate officers are non-voting ex-officio members of every Senate committee unless otherwise elected, appointed, or specified.


The Research Recognition Award Special Committee will:

  • develop the criteria and procedures for the award (for review by the Senate),
  • conduct and review nominations for the award, and
  • recommend to the Senate a candidate for the first award.

The committee chair, as well as part-time faculty serving on the committee, will receive compensation according to the Senate Compensation Policy and Standing Rules.

This special committee expires on June 30, 2019.

FRRA Selection Process

(Approved by the Senate on January 4, 2019)

Pratt Institute commits to recognizing and supporting research of its faculty, staff and students. The Faculty Research Recognition Award (FRRA) has been developed through faculty initiatives, supported by the Senate and Provost’s Office, to recognize the cumulative and ongoing research of our peers in their respective fields. The FRRA is awarded by a committee elected by the Senate representing members from all schools.

We recognize a wide range of research and scholarship, for example: applied research, pure research, creative scholarship, creative practice, and critical practices. We value ethical, responsible, sustainable, and inclusive research. We recognize and support interdisciplinary, collaborative work that promotes research practices and results shared without barriers.


There will be one recipient of the award. The Committee reserves the right not to give an award if no nominees meet the criteria.

Criteria for the award

The FRRA committee will consider nominees who meet all three of the criteria below:

  1. Impact (for example: disciplinary impact, public impact, high impact, and originality)  
  2. Critical Review and Reception (for example: prior awards, grants, exhibitions, peer review, published materials either by or about the nominee, performances, screenings, and any other evidence of professional achievement pertaining to the area of expertise)   
  3. Connection to Pratt Community (for example: sharing with Pratt community and influence on pedagogy in the classroom/studio)

Eligibility for Nomination

  • Pratt faculty (PT/FT) and staff who teach or hold faculty rank, with at least six semesters (consecutive or nonconsecutive) at Pratt are eligible for nomination.
  • Faculty must be a member of the Pratt community through the time the award is made at commencement in the Spring.
  • Eligible individuals on sabbatical may be nominated.
  • The President of the Academic Senate is not eligible.
  • Nominations of outstanding women, minorities, and members of other groups historically underrepresented in their disciplines and/or at Pratt are encouraged.
  • Previous recipients of the award are eligible again after five years.

Nomination Process

The candidate must be nominated by a Pratt faculty member or chairperson. The nominator must submit all of the following materials:

  1. A nomination letter that describes in detail the research accomplishments of the nominee and the reason(s) for nomination. The letter should speak to evidence that illustrates and supports the criteria listed above.
  2. Nominee personal statement and acceptance of nomination (approximately 750 words).
  3. Nominee CV.
  4. Two additional letters of support from a range of individuals knowledgeable about the nominee’s work, which demonstrate the nominee’s significant contributions to his/her/their field. One of these letters must be from an external source, and the second may be from an internal (to Pratt) source.

Nominations for the 2018–2019 award are due to by February 15, 2019.